

Notice of a meeting of Council

Monday, 16 May 2016 2.30 pm Council Chamber - Municipal Offices

	Membership	
Councillors:	Chris Ryder (Vice-Chair), Matt Babbage, Flo Clucas, Adam Lillywhite, Chris Mason, Dan Murch, Chris Nelson, John Payne, Max Wilkinson, Wendy Flynn, Paul Baker, Garth Barnes, Ian Bickerton, Nigel Britter, Chris Coleman, Mike Collins, Bernard Fisher, Tim Harman, Steve Harvey, Colin Hay, Rowena Hay, Karl Hobley, Sandra Holliday, Peter Jeffries, Steve Jordan, Helena McCloskey, Paul McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, Tony Oliver, Dennis Parsons, Louis Savage, Diggory Seacome, Malcolm Stennett, Klara Sudbury, Pat Thornton, Jon Walklett, Simon Wheeler, Roger Whyborn, Suzanne Williams and David Willingham	

Agenda

4		1
1.	APOLOGIES	
2.	ELECTION OF MAYOR (CHAIRMAN OF COUNCIL) FOR 2016-17 To elect the Mayor (Chairman of Council) for the Municipal Year 2016-17.	
	The Mayor (Duncan Smith) to call on Councillor Harman to move the motion proposing Councillor Chris Ryder as Mayor.	
	Councillor Harman will propose "that Councillor Chris Ryder be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will call upon Councillor Barnes to formally second the motion.	
	The Mayor, will thereafter put to the Council the motion "that Councillor Chris Ryder be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will invite Councillors to give a show of hands to indicate their support.	
	The Mayor will congratulate Councillor Ryder on her appointment and	

	invite her to take her place in the chamber (he will still be wearing the chain until he hands it over to the new Mayor at the inauguration ceremony).	
	The Head of Paid Service will ask the newly elected Mayor to sign a declaration of acceptance of office of Council Chairman 2016-17 (this is not read out).	
	From this point onwards Councillor Ryder will chair the meeting.	
3.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR (VICE-CHAIRMAN OF COUNCIL)	
	FOR 2016-17 To elect the Deputy-Mayor (Vice-Chairman of Council) for the ensuing Municipal Year 2016-17.	
	The Mayor will call upon Councillor Flynn to move the motion to appoint Councillor Sudbury as Deputy Mayor.	
	Councillor Flynn will propose "that Councillor Sudbury be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Vice-Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will call upon Councillor Walklett to formally second the motion.	
	The Mayor to put the motion to Council "that Councillor Sudbury be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Vice-Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will invite Councillors to give a show of hands to indicate their support.	
	Upon being carried, the Mayor will congratulate Councillor Sudbury on his/her appointment.	
	The Head of Paid Service will ask the newly elected Deputy Mayor to sign a declaration of acceptance of office of Council Vice-Chairman 2016-17 (this is not read out).	
4.	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	
5.	MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING	(Pages
J.	To approve the minutes of the meeting held on 4 April 2016.	(Fages 5 - 32)
6.	COMMUNICATIONS BY THE MAYOR	
7.	TO APPOINT THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE ENSUING 4 YEARS AND TO NOTE THE MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET INCLUDING THE DEPUTY LEADER The Mayor will invite a proposer and seconder for Leader of the Council. After a vote the Mayor will invite the newly appointed Leader to address the Council and announce the Deputy Leader and the membership of the Cabinet.	
8.	TO ESTABLISH AND APPOINT TO THE FOLLOWING COMMITTEES (INCLUDING APPOINTMENT OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS)	(Pages 33 - 36)

	Note : Details of political group nominations to committees will be circulated separately on the day of the meeting.	
	With Council's agreement the Mayor may propose that the nominations are agreed on bloc.	
	a) Overview and Scrutiny Committee (must be non-Executive members)b) Audit Committeec) Planning	
	 d) Licensing e) Standards Committee (no substitutes) f) Appointments and Remuneration Committee g) JNC Disciplinary Committee h) JNC Appeals Committee 	
9.	APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR TO THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE Note : According to the Constitution the Chair shall not be a member of the political group which forms the Cabinet	
10.	2020 PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE To appoint two Councillors (one Executive and one non Executive member)	
11.	GLOUCESTERSHIRE ECONOMIC GROWTH OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE To appoint one Councillor and a substitute, both non Executive members.	
12.	GLOUCESTERSHIRE HEALTH, COMMUNITY AND CARE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE To appoint one Councillor and a substitute, both non Executive members.	
13.	GLOUCESTERSHIRE POLICE AND CRIME PANEL To appoint one Councillor and a substitute	
	Note:Whilst this appointment does not have to be a non-Executive member, appointing such a member should avoid a potential conflict of interest and facilitate 2 way feedback with O&S committee (see report to Council 14 May 2012)	
14.	APPOINTMENT TO ADVISORY GROUPS AND WORKING GROUPS To appoint to the following advisory panels and working groups :	
	a) Treasury Management Panelb) Constitution Working Group	
15.	TO APPROVE THE CONSEQUENTIAL CHANGES TO THE CONSTITUTION	
16.	NOTICES OF MOTION	
17.	TO RECEIVE PETITIONS	

18.	ANY OTHER ITEM THE MAYOR DETERMINES AS URGENT AND WHICH REQUIRES A DECISION	
	The Selection Council will be followed by separate meetings of the Audit Committee, Planning Committee, Licensing Committee, Appointments and Remuneration Committee, JNC Disciplinary Committee, JNC Appeals Committee, Treasury Management Panel, the Constitution Working Group and the Asset Management Working Group. Each meeting will have the following standard agenda :	
	Agenda	
	Apologies Declarations of Interest To appoint the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committee/Panel	
	NB In previous years the Mayor has proposed that the Chairs and Vice-Chairs where necessary be elected by Council rather than by individual committees in separate meetings. This would need a show of hands from Members in support.	

Contact Officer: Rosalind Reeves, Democratic Services Manager, 01242 774937 Email: <u>democratic.services@cheltenham.gov.uk</u>

> Pat Pratley Head of Paid Service